Skip to main content

Britannica International School follows an enhanced version of the British National Curriculum.

The British national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so that children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject. At Britannica, we enhance and differentiate this standard set of curriculum subjects and their content to meet our international needs.

Key stages

The British national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage or more frequently as in Britannica’s case, the school and the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.



In the Primary school (5-11 years old) we understand that these years are crucial for the students to obtain a solid grounding of the core academic subjects. At the same time it is important that children have an exciting and fun experience at school.

Key Stage 1

Students aged 5 to 7 years

Key Stage 1 (KS1) in the British curriculum is taught to children of age five to seven years. With a special emphasis on developing the core subjects of literacy and numeracy, it ensures that the building blocks of the children's learning in these core areas are fully-developed and understood.

Combined with activities to develop these core curriculum areas, speacialist teachers introduce the children to Drama and Music. Extra support is also given to students with English as an Additional Language (EAL), to ensure they can quickly access the rest of the curriculum being taught.

Each class has a low teacher to student ratio. This ensures each student gets the attention they need to optimise their development. Each of our highly qualified UK teachers are supported by a fully qualified and experienced teaching assistant.

Key Stage 2

Students aged 7 to 11 years

Key Stage 2 builds on the strong foundations laid in Key Stage 1 preparing the children for the next stage of their education. The subject content and approach to teaching guarantees continuity of learning and a smooth transition from Key Stage 1.

Throughout Key Stage 2 pupils continue to be given experience in, and the opportunity to learn and make progress in, linguistic, mathematical, scientific, human and social, physical and aesthetic and creative education. Subjects are brought to life through project work, assembly presentations and exhibitions focusing on Science, Mathematics and other areas of the curriculum.

Besides the core subjects (English, Mathematics, Science and Information Technology) Children also study the subjects below; these are called the Foundation subjects:

  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Drama
  • Physical Education, including swimming
  • Hungarian language
  • Modern Foreign Language (Spanish, French or German) taught from Year 5
  • PSHE (Personal Social and Health Education)


In our Secondary Department (11 - 18 years), we offer the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), Advanced Subsidiary Levels (AS) and Advanced Levels (A Levels), provide graduating students with gold standard diplomas for entry to leading universities around the world.

Key Stage 3

Students aged 11 to 13

Key Stage 3 covers the transition from the more structured environment of the Primary school and prepares students for the independent study required for IGCSE and the A levels.

The content of the UK National Curriculum is modified slightly to take into account our location in Central Europe. It is inquiry based with an emphasis on developing basic skills and concepts and building a firm foundation for the IGCSE and A level years.

All students follow a course involving a wide range of subjects, providing everyone with the opportunity to discover and examine their own particular interests and talents.

The subjects currently offered include: English, Mathematics, Science, Computer Science, History, Geography, Art, Music, Physical Education, including Swimming, and Hungarian, as a First or Second Language, In addition students have the opportunity to study French, German or Spanish.

Key Stage 4

Students aged 13 to 16

Key Stage 4 is the final stage of our secondary school programme. Students aged 14-16 choose six subjects, from a range of subjects, which they then study for two years before sitting their IGCSE exams (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) of the University of Cambridge International Examinations (CIE).

These subjects are selected by students in close consultation with parents and staff. Students are encouraged to maintain a broad and balanced curriculum bearing in mind their pathway after the completion of IGCSE examinations.

In order to develop their higher order thinking skills all students are encouraged to be creative and demonstrate a higher level of independence through the curriculum and co-curricular activities; these are vital skills to enable success in the 21st century.

Sixth Form

Key Stage 5

Students aged 16 to 18

In the Sixth Form students aged from 16 to 18 continue with the Cambridge International Examinations Advanced Level diploma programme.

Cambridge International Examinations is the world's largest provider of international qualifications for 14-19 year old students, and the Advanced Levels are a passport to university entry worldwide.

Alongside our A levels, that are still the gold standard in school age academic achievement, we also offer the Edexcel qualifications.

All tutors in the Sixth Form work closely with the Sixth Form Coordinator and have a vital role to play overseeing a student’s academic and personal progress. Specific lessons are dedicated to such matters as study skills, time management, relevant personal, social and current issues and, as time goes on, the process of applying for Higher Education or employment.

Overall, the curriculum in the Sixth Form ensures that all of our students have the opportunity to maximise their potential, leaving Britannica as confident, articulate, successful young people ready to make their mark on the world.

A significant benefit of A levels is that they do not prescribe which subjects must be studied and offer students the opportunity to specialise in a particular area (such as the Sciences) or cover a broad range of subjects of their choosing. Students have the freedom to select the subjects that are right for them.

The majority of our students study 4 AS subjects in Year 12 and take three of these subjects through to A level in Year 13. We are, however, responsive to the needs of individuals and each student’s timetable is discussed and finalised only after careful consideration of particular strengths and interests.